Working on Space Eulogy + mAnY tHiNgS

I think it’s about time to essplain via Bloggy McBloggerson what my Space Funeral-related project is.

I’m developing Space Eulogy, the JRPG prequel to Space Funeral. I received permission from thecatamites to produce the game about a year ago after having played SF, the style of which I fell in love with and the story of which inspired me to expand on the canon. If you want to read about how the story pans out and stuff (and be a super dumby boring-head), I wrote a wiki so that I wouldn’t have to explain plot elements to other people who are working on it.

I started/finished that wiki up the day of a PIGSquad Art/Code Night that I hosted last week at the NW Lucky Lab, and I’ve been trying my best to complete certain other aspects of pre-dev stuff day by day. So far, after having worked out the basic plot, central characters, and the central characters’ backstories, I have a few non-pivotal characters mapped out and some more gameplayish stuff laid down. The party members all have at least three classes to choose from (the character “Mmm” has five), there are approximately 55 enemies and 12 bosses that I’ve divided into 14 leveling tiers, and Donny and I have defined quite a few gameplay elements regarding stats/level caps/encounter frequency/etc.

Regarding the team so far, I’ll be doing the main project development, writing, art for the prologue, and art for battle scenes; Donny will be doing stats and battle design; Jamey will be coding; and Wolfgang will be doing tile and NPC art. I’m excited to start working with everyone else soon (hopefully in the beginning of March), and I’m glad that the wiki’s all laid out beforehand.

With regard to MaNy ThInGs, I’ve been busy and worried and stressed and enjoying myself and all’a that over the past few weeks. The Lucky Lab meetup was fun/relaxing/helpful after having experienced a fairly depressing PDXFC meeting, where we explored some of the more hopeless corners of short film distribution (which has become our topic of the month as a result). There’re also quite a few big events coming up, such as this month’s chiptune show, Barcamp at the end of March, our hosting the Indie Game: The Movie screening, ‘n all that. I’ve decided to make my series “So There’s This Game” a Thursday-ly thing due to these commitments and other reasons, such as the fact that I’m going to burn myself out with zero audience if I do something like that twice a week.

Oh, but speaking of the CHIPTUNE SHOW, it’s THIS FRIDAY and it’ll be REALLY FUN. HAGEN made a REALLY COOL POSTER for the EVENT.


I’m done.

7 Comments on “Working on Space Eulogy + mAnY tHiNgS”

  1. Matt Dan says:

    I should go to this.

  2. […] (as well as selfishly listen all of der time), but I’m focusing much more on things like Space Eulogy and spending more social times with all’a deez cool people. AH WELL, we’ll do another […]

  3. […] when I got back in the swing of things by working on Space Eulogy, finishing up the recent Porkland Chiptune show, starting a schedule for So There’s This […]

  4. […] awhile, one of my big issues with developing Space Eulogy was my reservation about Space Funeral‘s existing fan base, and how this fan base would […]

  5. […] business cards for myself and for any projects that I’ve released (perhaps Bullet William and Space Eulogy) by PAX as well. Wait. Maybe other people need that, too..!” So I posted this little snittley […]

  6. phim says:

    Early horror movies are not the type of service you want.
    To rent online movies, nobody expects to be offered VHS cassettes anymore, but at the same time, it offers everything that made them interesting and
    entertaining!


Leave a Reply

